

City of Appleton

100 North Appleton Street Appleton, WI 54911-4799 www.appleton.org

Meeting Minutes - Final Board of Zoning Appeals

Monday, July 19, 2021 7:00 PM 6th Floor Council Chambers

1. Call meeting to order

Meeting called to order by McCann at 7:01 pm.

2. Roll call of membership

Present: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten

3. Approval of minutes from previous meeting

<u>21-0994</u> Minutes from June 21, 2021

Attachments: Minutes 6-21-21.pdf

Engstrom moved, seconded by Sperl, that the Minutes be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten

4. Public Hearings/Appearances

David Novak-Neighbor Vered Meltzer-Alderperson Gale Schultz-Neighbor

5. Action Items

21-0995 621 N. Bateman St. (31-1-0154-00) The applicant proposes to

change the use of a building from a place of worship to a non-profit recreational facility and provide no off-street parking. Section 23-172(m) of the Zoning Ordinance requires that five (5) off street parking spaces be

provided.

<u>Attachments:</u> 621 N. Bateman.pdf

Appearing as agents for the owner were John Adams and Graham Washatka.

SperI moved, seconded by Loosen, that the Report Action Item be approved for a recreation facility (non profit) use only. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten

21-0997 Election of Chair

Sperl moved, seconded by Loosen, to elect McCann as chair. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten

21-0998 Election of Vice Chair

McCann moved, seconded by Sperl, to elect Scott Engstrom as vice chair. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten

6. Information Items

7. Adjournment

A motion was made by Scott Engstrom, seconded by Kelly Sperl, that this meeting be adjourned at 7:56 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - McCann, Engstrom, Sperl and Loosen

Excused: 3 - Cain, Croatt and Joosten