

City of Appleton

Meeting Minutes - Final Common Council

Wednesday, October 7, 2020	6:00 PM	Council Chambers

Organizational Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Woodford at 6:01 p.m.

B. ROLL CALL OF ALDERPERSONS

 Present:
 16 Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad

 Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland,
 Alderperson Denise Fenton, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson

 Matthew Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Mike Smith,
 Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Nate Wolff, Alderperson Kyle

 Lobner, Alderperson Joe Prohaska, Alderperson Corey Otis and Mayor Jake
 Woodford

C. RULES OF COUNCIL

<u>20-1265</u>	Rule 3. g Clarification that Public Participation is limited to items on the
	agenda for Council Action

Attachments: Council Rules v4-22-2020 - considerations for 10-7-20 Org Meeting.pdf

Alderperson Smith moved, seconded by Alderperson Reed, that the Rule change be denied. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 11 Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Denise Fenton, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matthew Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Mike Smith, Alderperson Joe Prohaska and Alderperson Corey Otis
- Nay: 4 Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Nate Wolff and Alderperson Kyle Lobner
- Abstained: 1 Mayor Jake Woodford

<u>20-1266</u> Rule 17 - Change reflects the most recent update to Robert's Rules

Attachments: Council Rules v4-22-2020 - considerations for 10-7-20 Org Meeting.pdf

Alderperson Otis moved, seconded by Alderperson Prohaska, that the Rule change be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Denise Fenton, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matthew Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Mike Smith, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Nate Wolff, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Joe Prohaska and Alderperson Corey Otis

- Abstained: 1 Mayor Jake Woodford
- 20-1267 Rule 19 Resolutions must be submitted to the Clerk by 4:30 p.m. on the Thursday before Council. Resolutions would only be read upon request of a Council member, another member could object to the reading and, if objected to, a vote is taken with a majority deciding if the Resolution is read

Attachments: Council Rules v4-22-2020 - considerations for 10-7-20 Org Meeting.pdf

Alderperson Smith moved, seconded by Alderperson Prohaska, that the Rule change be denied. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 12 Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Denise Fenton, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matthew Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Mike Smith, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Nate Wolff, Alderperson Joe Prohaska and Alderperson Corey Otis
- Nay: 3 Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Joe Martin and Alderperson Kyle Lobner
- Abstained: 1 Mayor Jake Woodford

D. RESOLUTIONS SUBMITTED BY ALDERPERSONS REFERRED TO THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

- E. OTHER COUNCIL BUSINESS
- F. ADJOURN

Alderperson Siebers moved, seconded by Alderperson Prohaska, that the meeting be adjourned at 6:38 p.m. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 15 Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Denise Fenton, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matthew Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Mike Smith, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Nate Wolff, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Joe Prohaska and Alderperson Corey Otis
- Abstained: 1 Mayor Jake Woodford

Kami Lynch, City Clerk