

City of Appleton

100 North Appleton Street Appleton, WI 54911-4799 www.appleton.org

Meeting Minutes - Final Common Council

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 6:00 PM Council Chambers

Organizational Meeting

A. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Hanna at 6:01 p.m.

B. ROLL CALL OF ALDERPERSONS

Present: 16 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad

Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland,

Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt

Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Christine Williams,

Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt, Alderperson Keir Dvorachek and Mayor

Timothy Hanna

C. REPORT OF THE INFORMAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

19-0507 Rules of Council

Attachments: Council Rules ADOPTED 4-18-2018.pdf

Council Rules 4-17-2019 Informal Mtg. Changes .pdf
Council Rules 4-17-2019 Redlined Changes .pdf

Council Rules 4-17-2019 FINAL.pdf

The following amendments were proposed to the Council Rules. Those that passed are included in the attachment.

1. Motion- Dvorachek, seconded by Meltzer:

Rule 3: Move e. Public Participation between g. and h. on the Council Agenda Motion carried 15/0

2. Motion- Lobner, seconded by Van Zeeland:

Rule 3(e): Remove 15 minutes of public participation and replace it with 30 minutes.

Motion carried 15/0

3. Motion- Dvorachek, seconded by Meltzer:

Rule 19: Add a line that states; Resolutions referred to an elected official shall be referred to the Committee of jurisdiction within 60 days of receipt.

Motion carried 15/0

4. Motion- Meltzer, seconded by Croatt:

Rule 22: Add Martin Luther King Jr. day after Election Day.

Motion carried 14/1 (Martin)

5. Motion- Schultz

Rule 23: Allowing a member in a position in which they cannot meet during an assigned Committee meeting time to switch Committee appointments at the mid-year organizational meeting.

This Motion was withdrawn prior to receiving a second.

6. Motion-Lobner, seconded by Croatt:

Rule 3: Eliminate the Invocation

This Motion was withdrawn prior to being voted upon.

7. Motion- Lobner, seconded by Raasch:

Rule 3(e): Add a provision that public speakers should keep their individual comments to a maximum of 5 minutes

Motion carried 15/0.

Alderperson Lobner moved, seconded by Alderperson Croatt, that the Council Rules be approved as amended. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

<u>19-0508</u> Department & Committee Functions

Attachments: Dept-Comm Functions - ADOPTED - 04-19-2017.pdf

Alderperson Croatt moved, seconded by Alderperson Dvorachek, that the Department & Committee Functions be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

D. RE-COMMITMENT TO THE CODE OF CONDUCT

19-0510 Code of Conduct

Attachments: Code of Conduct.pdf

Alderperson Lobner moved, seconded by Alderperson Martin, that the Council re-commit to the Code of Conduct. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Abstained: 2 - Alderperson Alex Schultz and Mayor Timothy Hanna

E. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES & COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

Alderperson Raasch moved, seconded by Alderperson Van Zeeland, that the Committee Appointments be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

19-0609

Attachments: Committee Appointments- 2019.pdf

F. ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Alderpersons Croatt and Lobner were nominated.

Through the use of secret ballots, Alderperson Lobner was elected Council President, receiving 8 votes.

G. ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL VICE-PRESIDENT

Alderpersons Meltzer and Croatt were nominated for Council Vice-President. Through the use of secret ballots, Alderperson Meltzer was elected Council Vice-President, receiving 8 votes.

H. ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL MEMBER TO THE CITY PLAN COMMISSION

Alderpersons Meltzer and Siebers were nominated as the Council Member of the City Plan Commission.

Alderperson Siebers withdrew his name from the nominations. There were no other nominations received.

Alderperson Meltzer was unanimously approved as the Council Member of the City Plan Commission.

I. OTHER COUNCIL BUSINESS

J. ADJOURN

Alderperson Lobner moved, seconded by Alderperson Croatt, that the meeting be adjourned at 7:07 p.m. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 16 - Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Brad Firkus, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Katie Van Zeeland, Alderperson Rachel Raasch, Alderperson Maiyoua Thao, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Alex Schultz, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Chris Croatt, Alderperson Keir Dvorachek and Mayor Timothy Hanna

Kami Lynch, City Clerk