

# **City of Appleton**

100 North Appleton Street Appleton, WI 54911-4799 www.appleton.org

# Meeting Minutes - Final Common Council

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

6:00 PM

**Council Chambers** 

#### **ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING**

#### A. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Hanna at 6:01 p.m.

### B. ROLL CALL OF ALDERPERSONS

Alderperson Konetzke arrived at 6:08 p.m. Alderperson Spears arrived at 6:12 p.m.

Present: 13 - Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt

Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Mayor Timothy Hanna, Alderperson Keir Dvorachek and Alderperson Bob Baker

Excused: 3 - Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Greg Dannecker and Alderperson

**Chris Croatt** 

#### C. ROLL CALL OF OFFICERS AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

City Attorney Walsh, Deputy City Attorney Behrens, City Clerk Lynch, Director of Community & Economic Development Harkness, Diversity Coordinator Nelson, Director of Finance Saucerman, Health Officer Eggebrecht, Library Director Rortvedt, Director of Parks, Recreation & Facilities Gazza, Police Chief Thomas, Director of Public Works Vandehey, Director of Utilities Shaw, Valley Transit General Manager Mc Donald

The following departments were excused:

Fire

Human Resources
Information Technology

#### D. ACTION ITEMS

17-1879 Resolution #16-R-17 Regarding Social Media Use During Posted/Public

Meetings

<u>Attachments:</u> #16-R-17 Social Media.pdf

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Dvorachek, that the Resolution be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Cathy Spears and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Nay: 3 - Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Vered Meltzer and Alderperson Bob

**Excused:** 3 - Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Greg Dannecker and Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

#### 17-1878 Rules of Council

Attachments: Council Rules - ADOPTED - 04-19-2017.pdf

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Dvorachek, that the Rules of Council be amended to add a rule regarding social media use.

Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Cathy Spears and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Nay: 3 - Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Vered Meltzer and Alderperson Bob Baker

**Excused:** 3 - Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Greg Dannecker and Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

The amendment adds the following Council Rule:

Members of the Common Council will conform to non-use of social media during posted meetings. This is to be defined as: active communication to or from the public, peers, or staff on social media such as but not limited to; Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Spears, that the Rules of Council be approved as amended. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Cathy Spears and Alderperson Keir Dvorachek

Nay: 1 - Alderperson Bob Baker

Excused: 3 - Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Greg Dannecker and Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

## E. OTHER COUNCIL BUSINESS

#### F. ADJOURN

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Konetzke, that the meeting be adjourned at 6:45 p.m. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Kyle Lobner, Alderperson Matt Reed, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Mayor Timothy Hanna, Alderperson Keir Dvorachek and Alderperson Bob Baker

**Excused:** 3 - Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Greg Dannecker and Alderperson Chris Croatt

Kami Lynch, City Clerk