

# City of Appleton

100 North Appleton Street Appleton, WI 54911-4799 www.appleton.org

# **Meeting Minutes - Final Common Council**

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

7:00 PM

**Council Chambers** 

#### SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMON COUNCIL

CALL TO ORDER Α.

The meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m.

- PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG B.
- C. **ROLL CALL OF ALDERPERSONS**

OTHERS PRESENT: Deputy City Clerk Griesbach, City Attorney Walsh, Deputy City Attorney Behrens, Director of Community and Economic Development Harkness, Director of Finance Saucerman, Fire Chief Vander Wyst, Health Officer Eggebrecht, Director of Parks, Recreation and Facilities Gazza, Police Chief Thomas, Director of Public Works Vandehey, Director of Utilities Shaw and Communications Coordinator

Present: 15 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Mayor Timothy Hanna, Alderperson Polly Dalton, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Kyle Lobner and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

15-1808 Convene into Committee of the Whole

The Common Council convened into Committee of the Whole at 7:02 p.m.

During Committee of the Whole the following individuals were given permission to speak:

Will Weider - Appleton Jennifer Stephany - Appleton Downtown Inc. Randy Klement, General Manager - Hampton Inn Jay Schumerth, General Manager - Radisson Paper Valley Hotel Pam Seidl - Convention and Visitors Bureau Kathy Stratton, Owner - Blue Moon Emporium

Alderperson Konetzke moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the Common Council convene into Committee of the Whole. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Polly Dalton, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Kyle Lobner and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

<u>15-1598</u> Approval of the Intergovernmental Agreement (Cooperation Agreement) for the Fox Cities Exhibition Center

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Martin, that the Report Action Item be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Nay: 2 - Alderperson Polly Dalton and Alderperson Kyle Lobner

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

<u>15-1599</u> Approval of the Amended and Restated Room Tax Commission and Tourism Zone Agreement (Exhibition Center)

Alderperson Konetzke moved, seconded by Alderperson Baranowski, that the Report Action Item be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Kyle Lobner and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Nay: 1 - Alderperson Polly Dalton

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

<u>15-1600</u> Approval of draft ordinance imposing a hotel/motel room tax (Exhibition Center)

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the Report Action Item be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Nay: 2 - Alderperson Polly Dalton and Alderperson Kyle Lobner

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

## 15-1809 Reconvene to Common Council

The Committee of the Whole reconvened into the Common Council at 7:42 p.m.

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the Committee of the Whole reconvene into the Common Council. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Polly Dalton, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Kyle Lobner and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

### <u>15-1810</u> Report of the Committee of the Whole

Alderperson Baranowski moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the Report of the Committee of the Whole be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Alderperson Polly Dalton, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Nay: 1 - Alderperson Kyle Lobner

Excused: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Abstained: 1 - Mayor Timothy Hanna

#### D. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Alderperson Lobner moved, seconded by Alderperson Baranowski, that the be adjourned. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Alderperson Greg Dannecker, Alderperson Joe Martin, Alderperson Cathy Spears, Mayor Timothy Hanna, Alderperson Polly Dalton, Alderperson Christine Williams, Alderperson Vered Meltzer, Alderperson Kathleen Plank, Alderperson William Siebers, Alderperson Curt Konetzke, Alderperson Ed Baranowski, Alderperson Margret Mann, Alderperson Patti Coenen, Alderperson Kyle Lobner and Alderperson Jeffrey Jirschele

Absent: 1 - Alderperson Chris Croatt

Jamie L. Griesbach, Deputy City Clerk

City of Appleton Page 4