

Meeting Minutes - Final

Community & Economic Development Committee

Monday, February 23, 2015	6:00 PM	Council Chambers, 6th Floor
Monday, February 23, 2015	6:00 PM	Council Chambers, 6th Floor

THIS MEETING HAS BEEN REVISED TO MEET LATER AT 6:00 P.M.

1. Call meeting to order

Meeting called to order at 6:04 p.m.

2. Roll call of membership

- Present: 4 Alderperson Stueck, Alderperson Coenen, Alderperson Konetzke and Alderperson Meltzer
- **Excused:** 1 Alderperson Spears

Others present: Mayor Tim Hanna Alderperson Tim Trauger, District 1 Alderperson Sarah Garb, District 5 Alderperson Greg Dannecker, District 6 Alderperson Kathy Plank, District 7 Alderperson Polly Dalton, District 8 Alderperson Christine Williams, District 10 Alderperson Kyle Lobner, District 13 Alderperson Christopher Croatt, District 14 Alderperson Jeff Jirschele, District 15 Ben LaFrombois, Hinshaw & Culbertson Tom Brown, 1014 W. Brewster Street, Appleton Edward Klug, ARA & 100 W. College Avenue, Appleton Ellen Evensen, 816 E. Byrd Street, Appleton Ethel Schulze, 1049 W. Windtree Drive, Appleton Sharron Huss, 1407 W. Starview Drive, Appleton Marissa Downs, ARA & 6625 N. Smoketree Pass, Appleton Curt Detjen, ARA & 2525 S. Schaefer Street, Appleton Zach Zinsli, Hilton Garden Inn, 720 Eisenhower Drive, Kimberly Cory Schueler, Hilton Garden Inn, 720 Eisenhower Drive, Kimberly Char Stankowski, Country Inn, 130 Patriot Drive, Little Chute Chuck Merry, 1431 N. Briarcliff Drive, Appleton Barb Merry, 1431 N. Briarcliff Drive, Appleton Jim Van Dyke, ARA & 1008 E. Sunset Avenue, Appleton Mark Priddis, 1310 N. Briarcliff Drive, Appleton B. Fellows, 1808 E. Longview Drive, Appleton William Siebers, 1109 N. Appleton Street, Appleton Watson Whiteside, 201 S. Riverheath Way, #207, Appleton John Pfefferle, 18 Sunnyslope Court, Appleton John Stoeger, 527 S. Story Street, Appleton TC Flanagan, 1105 S. Timmers, Grand Chute Lon Ponschock, 2425 N. Mason Street, Appleton Nathan Weyenberg, Angels Forever, 310 W. College Avenue, Appleton Richard Thompson, 303 River Drive, Appleton Matt Ten Haken. Fox Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau Mary Beth Laux, 303 S. Walnut Street, Appleton Elizabeth Laux, 303 S. Walnut Street, Appleton Don Page, 422 W. Michigan Street, Appleton Ruth Ann Page, 422 W. Michigan Street, Appleton Jeannine Rice-Crabb, 1325 S. Mason Street, Appleton Alan Royce, Two Paws Up Bakery, 305 E. College Avenue, Appleton Jean DiPietro, 1007 W. Browning Street, Appleton David DiPietro, 1007 W. Browning Street, Appleton William Mys, 1203 Montclaire Court, Appleton Duke Behnke, Post-Crescent Media June Stueck, constituent Kara Homan, Outagamie County Pam Seidl, Fox Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau Jack Voight, Voight Insurance Walter Rugland, Fox Cities Exhibition Center Board Maria Van Laanen, Fox Cities Performing Arts Center

Van J. Callies, 2601 E. Glenhurst Lane, Appleton Laura Leimer, 720 E. Washington Street, Appleton Milt Melander, 720 E. Washington Street, Appleton Susan Trail, Practical Safety Solutions, LLC, 824 E. Minor Street, Appleton Sue Bogenschutz, Alas-Waterfront Cafe Preston O'Connor, constituent Joseph Wotmer, Appleton resident Joan McDaniel, constituent Debbie Griffith, Neenah resident John Volkman, 1113 E. Marquette Street, Appleton Gina Hardl, Candlewood Suites Hotel Craig Arnold, 1702 N. Clark Street, Appleton Jennifer Stephany, Appleton Downtown Inc. & 3033 E. Canary Street, Appleton Josh Dukelow, Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce, 125 N. Superior Street, Appleton Shannon Full, Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce, 125 N. Superior Street, Appleton John Burgland, Fox River Mall, 4301 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Grand Chute Penny Bernard Schaber, 815 E. Washington Street, Appleton Dale Schaber, 815 E. Washington Street, Appleton Jeff Fogle, Das Ventures, 603 W. College Avenue, Appleton Ned Hietpas, Events Producer, 1140 Manor Drive #104, Neenah Jim Mahan, 103 S. Jospeh Street, Appleton Sarah Leet, 1027 W. Oklahoma Street, Appleton

- 3. Approval of minutes from previous meeting
 - <u>15-310</u> CEDC Minutes from 2-18-15

Attachments: CEDC Minutes 2-18-15.pdf

Alderperson Coenen moved, seconded by Alderperson Konetzke, that the Minutes be approved. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 4 Alderperson Stueck, Alderperson Coenen, Alderperson Konetzke and Alderperson Meltzer
- **Excused:** 1 Alderperson Spears
- 4. Public Hearings/Appearances
- 5. Action Items
- 6. Information Items

<u>15-306</u>	Overview - Ma Overview - Sta -Convention -Chamber of -Fox Cities E -Appleton Do Questions/Ans -Exhibition S -Community to answer que -Ownership o -Review of L -Offer to Pur	akeholders Group & Visitors Bureau Commerce Exhibition Center Board owntown Inc. swers: atudy and Results Partners/Stakeholders - Community partners will be able estions that have been asked of Exhibition Center/Radisson egal Process
	<u>Attachments:</u>	Memo to CEDC from Peter 2.23.15.pdf Edited Summary of Exhibition Center Questions 2-19-15 Larger.pdf EC QA 2-26-15 FINAL.pdf

Alderperson Spears arrived at 6:42 p.m.

Meeting recessed at 8:05 p.m. Meeting reconvened at 8:15 p.m. Meeting recessed at 10:00 p.m. Meeting reconvened at 10:10 p.m. The Purchase Agreement will be listed as an action item on the 3-4-15 Common Council Agenda with the intent to go into Committee of the Whole.

This Presentation was discussed.

15-305	Resolution #2-R-15 - Lobner/Dannecker/Dalton
--------	--

"WHEREAS continuing to pursue projects which do not have the clear approval of the Common Council is a misuse of valuable staff time and tax dollars,

AND WHEREAS the Appleton Common Council's last official action to support the proposed Exhibition Center project was in November of 2013,

AND WHEREAS the Appleton Common Council voted to reject a proposed land purchase for the purpose of this project, and has taken no action on this item since it was reconsidered,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the City of Appleton shall immediately disengage from the Fox Cities Exhibition Center project and all attorneys, consultants and contractors involved in the project."

Alderperson Konetzke moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the Report Action Item be held until the next CEDC meeting. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 4 Alderperson Stueck, Alderperson Coenen, Alderperson Konetzke and Alderperson Spears
- Nay: 1 Alderperson Meltzer

7. Adjournment

Alderperson Konetzke moved, seconded by Alderperson Coenen, that the meeting be adjourned at 11:45 p.m. Roll Call. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Alderperson Stueck, Alderperson Coenen, Alderperson Konetzke, Alderperson Meltzer and Alderperson Spears