## Resolution #16-R-20

## Re-establishing the Ellen Kort Peace Park Committee as Standing Subcommittee of Parks, Recreation & Facilities

Date: September 16, 2020

Submitted By: Alderperson Schultz, District 9 & Alderperson Fenton, District 6

Referred To: City Attorney's Office

WHEREAS; in 2017, upon Common Council adoption of both the future name and future function of the former We Energies / Waste Water treatment plant properties, as the "Ellen Kort Peace Park", an adhoc community committee was formed to steer the concept and design of the future park, namely the Ellen Kort Peace Park Committee, and;

WHEREAS: The Ellen Kort Peace Park Committee presented a design brief to the Urban Landscaping and Design firm of Lunde Williams, which included numerous unique recommendations for amenities, spacial function and flow and numerous expressionistic elements, unlike those typically offered in a city or neighborhood park, and;

WHEREAS: in 2018, The Master Plan for Ellen Kort Peace Park received an Honor Award from the Wisconsin Chapter of American Society of Landscape Architects for analysis and planning due in no small part to the inclusion and exploration of these conceptual "peace-themed" components presented in the steering committees' design brief, and;

WHEREAS: with the Master Plan for Ellen Kort Peace Park established as a foundation for the final design process to begin in the fall of 2021, and considering the many extraordinary park elements requiring further exploration to realize their potential role in the overall mission of this one-of-a-kind Peace Park, now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Common Council of Appleton direct the Parks, Recreation and Facilities Director to establish the "Ellen Kort Peace Park Committee" as a standing subcommittee under Park and Recreation and task it with continuing the important work of advising City staff on final park design and formerly vetting and providing recommendations on all ideas brought forth on the Peace Park's behalf, and;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Committee membership shall consist of no less than but not limited to 6 members, including alderman from District 11 or designee, one representative of the Ellen Kort family, one representative from Appleton Downtown, Inc, one representative of Sculpture Valley or other arts based non-profit advocacy organization, and 2 members of the public appointed by the Mayor